Falkland War era Brits.

Given we’re in the year of its 30th anniversary I’ve decided to get a small collection of figures to re-fight the conflict- the main inspiration was in fact last year and a scenario in the Force on Force rule book. It was the first war I can remember- I distinctly remember the coverage on John Craven’s Newsround (I was only young in ’82). I’ve got a small selection of Argentine figures already- a mix of Stonewall/ Combat miniatures and Platoon 20s so I looked around for some suitable opponents. CP models/ TDQ have released 2 really nice packs so I decided to add them to my collection, I’m a big fan of their ranges. http://www.cpmodelsminiatures.co.uk/index.htm

I bought 3 packs, each of 6 figures: 1 pack of SAS with mixed weapons, 2 packs of Squaddies with SLRs, 7.62 Bren and Sterling. THe figures come with a choice of heads and optional backpacks/ Bergens. So I did the SAS with wool hats and the Squaddies all in helmets but one group with Bergens. I gave them a quick paint job- the closeup photos of them are a bit unforgiving and my rendition of DPM could do with a bit more green but I’m happy with them on mass.

3 comments on “Falkland War era Brits.

  1. Joe Collins says:

    Hello again!

    Sorry that I have not been on this blog for a while, but excellent news on be one of the growing number of Falklands gamers. Hope to see some game AAR’s soon.

    Joe

  2. Pete S/ SP says:

    Thanks- I’ll be organizing a game with them once I get a few more painted up. I’ve got a pack of the Elhiem Brits on the work bench at the moment. Will probably use card models for the buildings- as I’ve seen some nice ones. Was planning on Hornby but they seem expensive.

  3. Mark says:

    Very nice treatment of the CP figs Pete.

    Cheers
    Mark

Leave a Reply

