SWAT game.

Last year I was involved in a RPG campaign run by my mate Brian (Brush Wars http://brushwars.wordpress.com/); we played secret agents in a game called Conspiracy X (think X files style investigations with an over arching conspiracy). During the course of our investigation we had to plan a raid on a group of hackers/ survivalists. I really enjoyed that part of the game, it harked back to the fun I had with the first Rainbow Six PC game back in the day…

… So I decided to try to incorporate some of these ideas into my table top games. Around the same time a number of factors combined to put all of necessary parts into place. A true crime book gave me the idea for the scenario, through Wargames Vault( http://www.wargamevault.com/) I found modern building plans that you can print out including a small warehouse that would be ideal as a target building for the raid and are group got into the family of rules put out by Two Hour Wargames (http://www.twohourwargames.com/)which are ideal for low level skirmishes.

Brian and Evan were happy to take the role of the SWAT planners- I gave them 200 points to buy both intelligence and assets for the raid. The more they spent on finding out about their targets the easier it would be but they would have less points to buy assets to play with. Given that in my experience wargamers rarely agree on anything it was with much amusement I watched the pair of them try to formulate a plan. If people are interested let me know and I’ll up load the full scenario.

The game was played out in 20mm using the reaction tables from 2HW’s All things Zombie. The figures came from a variety of manufactures: Liberation, Elhiem, Caesar plastic and old GW Dark Future figures. The helicopter and cars are all assorted diecasts.

I’ll admit that using a paper printout for the warehouse does sacrifice a fair bit in terms of visual aesthetics it did make it very easy to game on.

The game went really well- the flash bangs used by the SWAT teams really made it easy for them and reduced their casualties. 2 cops took rounds but their body armour protected them. 2 Bikers were killed and the rest of the gang and drug manufactures were easily arrested. The basic premise of the game worked well and it’ll be something I’ll expand on.

8 comments on “SWAT game.

  1. Was a really fun game and went well. Two Hour Wargames’ system is a very good solid system that can be adapted to most systems and thats why it so good 🙂

  2. Joe Collins says:

    Hey, that looks like fun! Years ago, I was trying to write up a SWAT style game system which was based heavily on some things I read on Darryl Gates’ policies. It relied on negotigations and assets as well. Woe to a trigger happy SWAT player as they might “win” the battle by shooting all the bad guys but there will be a major Public Relations blow back for the heavy handness. I might have to see if I still have those files, but that is probably ten years ago.

    Also, you mention the 200 points for intel or assets, can you expand on that? I am curious about how you went about that.

    Finally, what version of ConX do you play? I played a couple of games of 1.0, but never did the GURPS or 2.0

    Cheers,

    Joe

  3. Im not sure if SP with know but it was the original version of ConX. 1.0 🙂

  4. Brian says:

    YES! Please upload the scenario details!

    Thanks!
    Brian

  5. Pete S/ SP says:

    Right guys the scenario briefing is uploaded in a new post.

    Cheers,

    Pete.

  6. The maps look great and we’re glad that you enjoyed them! Thanks for sharing your experience with your readers!

    Charles White
    Fabled Environments

  7. Forgot to add…Couldn’t find your email handy on the site. If you’d like to review a few of our maps/use them in a game and share your experience through your blog, send me an email and I’ll hook you up with a few downloads. If you are doing SWAT stuff, we have a set of jets that might be nice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

