Sheffield show- Triples

I spent the weekend at the Triples Show in Sheffield ( helping Bill with his lifting and carrying at the Under Fire Miniatures stand).

Triples has always been my favourite show- good selection of both traders and games. I picked up a few bits and pieces. Sewers from Ainsty Castings, a AA gun and field kitchen from Sgts Mess, 6 really nice hills from Kallistra made from a good tough plastic and finally some Tumbling Dice 1/600th aircraft for Vietnam. I’m a big fan of the mini aircraft- a kind of affordable megalomania. I acquired 1 B52 (still huge even in 1/600), 4 F111s and 12 F105s- this way I’ll be able to add them to my existing collection to game strategic raids into North Vietnam. I also picked up a few bits for Evan, so I’ll look forward to seeing them appear in future games.

It was nice to have the time over the weekend to chat to various people putting on game. I chjatted to Will at the Lance and Longbow Society game stand- love figures and table but not my period at all. I said hello to Steve and the other lads from Barnsley who did a lovely Sicily game, and got a well deserved 2nd place for it. Had a nice chat to the Abbey Wood Irregulars with their display game- Nicaragua versus Honduras in 1957. I’m always keen on obscure little war and their gaming potential- they were running the air war on a small table with the ground campaign on the main table. both games featured some very nicely painted Mustangs and Lightnings. I came away with some book suggestions- 1 is on order currently from the US. sticking with aircraft- there was a nice San Carlos bay Falklands game. The ships were all from the old Airfix lines being protected/ attacked by 1/300th planes all on a hex map. I also had a game of ‘Barbarossa in 20 mins’ put on by the Wargames Developments group. It was umpired by Tim Gow (Megablitz and More blog) it was nice to meet him and put a face to a name. I commanded Army group North- a a pretty abysmal commander I was too. After 16 mins Moscow had fallen to Army group Centre whilst I hadn’t even made it out of the Baltic… not a very good game. Still it was fast paced fun with a clever card driven system.

All in all a great hobby weekend.

Leave a Reply

