Fletcher Pratt Naval Game. AAR.

Just after Xmas, Brian and I headed across town to Evan for our first game of The Fletcher Pratt Naval Game. Evan had his nicely painted newly finished boards to try out too.

He rustled up a quick scenario- Battle of the river plate http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_the_River_Plate.

Brian took on the role of Captain of Spee, Evan had the Essex while I had joint command of the smaller Ajax and Achilles.

For more details on the game see http://www.wargaming.co/books/pratt/homepage.htm . We used the small scale Featherstone rules but using cms not inches- also Evan came up with some extra rules given we were using 1/3000th ships. After a while we got the idea and they seemed to work well.

My two commands and a nice example of Evan's player sheets.

My two commands and a nice example of Evan’s player sheets.

All three of us enjoyed the game, especially the guesstimating ranges. Evan’s props which he made were just right for the job too.

I only had my camera phone with me so please excuse the paucity of pics and their low quality:

After initial heavy damage my 2 light cruisers try to close the distance.

After initial heavy damage my 2 light cruisers try to close the distance.

Spee under heavy attack. Also not Evan's nice firing arrows.

Spee under heavy attack. Also not Evan’s nice firing arrows.

Trying to return fire. My smaller guns were less effective than hoped.

Trying to return fire. My smaller guns were less effective than hoped.

Brian's ship under even heavier attack- five hits have been registered.

Brian’s ship under even heavier attack- five hits have been registered.

All in all a great afternoons gaming, even if it ended in something of a stalemate. We all want to play more Fletcher Pratt, I need to get my plastic kits made up; and I’m considering going back a few years to the Russo Japanese War too. As I guess watch this space.

Cheers,

Pete.

One comment on “Fletcher Pratt Naval Game. AAR.

  1. Dan Rygasewicz says:

    Nice. Great to see someone still playing these rules. The legend lives on.

    I played these rules back in 60s Man what a long time. To figure the formula for damage was a big turn off. I graduated to a game called Clear For Action in the 70s and into the 80s. Lost these rules then found them again. No players though. This was another range estimation game.

    Good luck with Fletcher Pratt rules.

Leave a Reply

