Pretty Pictures- Poor Game, a Cold War what if? AAR.

Last Monday I put on a game for Evan and Chris. As you’ve probably guessed by this post’s title it didn’t go particularly well….

I wanted to try out a few more combinations from my Cold War stats, I pitted a platoon of T72s and Soviet infantry, again a platoon’s worth, carried in BTR60PBs against a pair of BAOR Chieftains and 2 sections of dismounted infantry defending a section of road. Sadly my stats need more looking at- whilst it was a poor game (apologies guys) it was an excellent playtest.

I’ll put up the pretty pictures first then post- mortem afterwards.

The table- the scenarios was to fought across the width this time.

The table- the scenarios was to fought across the width this time.

Chieftain lying in wait.

Chieftain lying in wait.

The opposition - the tiddlywink is a ammo status marker.

The opposition – the tiddlywink is a ammo status marker.

The view from the Soviet base edge.

The view from the Soviet base edge.

General overview- by this stage both British tanks had gone.

General overview- by this stage both British tanks had gone.

End of the game with the Russians in the village.

End of the game with the Russians in the village.

First the good things:

The new roads look great- not perfect but given the cost I’m more than happy with them. (I saw them on either a blog or forum- can’t remember which or who posted them- but who ever you were many thanks for the heads up. They were cheap toys from Sainsbury’s.) Especially as they fit next to the Ainsty pavements so well. I’ll pick up more of those at the next show I’m at.

The changes I made to the vehicle damage charts worked well as well. This is one addition we’ll be keeping.

The bad:

The game failed because the stats I had generated for the game meant that the British were at a severe disadvantage. I tried to make a short cut by only having one APR rating per vehicle rather than per shell but given the length of time they were in service and the different shells that could be used I think that it needs to be included. Given I can’t see more than 3-5 tanks being used per side I don’t think that the extra book keeping will be to arduous.

More research is needed on the main guns of the post war period: The British, 105mm and rifled 120mm, the German 120mm Smoothbore and the Russian 125mm.

I had given the Russians a Milan as an off table asset, how ever as I didn’t fire we couldn’t see how it functioned in the body of the rules. So that will be added back into a future game too.

Right a case of back to the books and research, the stats need a bit more polishing before they are ready.

Cheers,

Pete.

6 comments on “Pretty Pictures- Poor Game, a Cold War what if? AAR.

  1. tankguy1 says:

    Not positive but chieftain was in service when warpac was using T62 & T55. First 125mm tank in soviet service was T64 followed by the T72 series. By then challenger had replaced chieftains. T80 is a generation ahead of the Chieftains. Stats may have ben right. Rifled 120 used APDS and HESH which would not have the effectiveness of the smoothbore German 120 or Soviet 125mm. Actually the HESH round might have better effect. No penetration or spalling but definite effect on crew and fire control/optics.

    • Pete S/ SP says:

      Hi Mike,

      Think the stats are right for the standard Cheiftain, however the more I look I find that the devil is in the details. HESH rounds need more looking into (I’ve got some 80’s Brit tank crew who have offered to help there), A new AT round came into service with the Brits in 83 so that probably needs a different stat line. Also the performance of the 125mm Soviet varied massively over time. Watch this space as I’ve got to gets some more ideas down on paper.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

  2. Ben B says:

    Nice terrain and vehicles at least. That’s a shame about the stats though, it has always been live and learn for me when it comes to rules; I’m still finding details in FoF that I have missed over the months!

    • Pete S/ SP says:

      Thanks Ben 🙂

      The rules are a WIP so situations like these crop up from time to time and it’s good to get the problems sorted out.

      Beside you’re not a proper gamer if you don’t misread something for ages before you notice. (As happened to us with this evening’s board game).

      Cheers,

      Pete.

  3. Mike P says:

    The table looks nice, particularly the roads, and the tanks are lovely. I wish I could comment on the stats and weaponry but this level of hardware leaves me cold. I am the sort of player who says what do I need to hit? Rules that drill down too far into armour penetration and ordanance don’t work for me, but I admire the folks who make that sort of thing work.

    • Pete S/ SP says:

      Hi Mike, thanks for the comments, All of the tanks were pre painted diecasts, though I painted the BTR60s myself (though they are now part of my friend’s collection).

      It’s my first time trying to put together any set of stats like this, more work than I expected but interesting. Mainly a case, when I look back at other rules, of that people don’t notice when it is done right but notice when it’s done wrong.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

Leave a Reply

