Brandenburg Gate: On the cheap.

They say if you are wanting to make something you can a) have it quick, b) have it cheap or c) have it good, however you can only have two of the three options….

A good while back Britannia Miniatures released a 20mm sized replica of the Brandenburg Gate from Berlin, sadly Dave Howit, the founder of Britannia has passed; thankfully the reins have subsequently been passed to the more than capable Andy Grubb. However I’ve heard that to get the old model back into production is prohibitively expensive….

How do these two statements relate to each other? Well I was grabbing some food on my way home from town and popped into the well known Lidl supermarket where I found a card model of the Brandenburg Gate for £2.99. It seemed too good to pass up for the price, as such it meets the first two options from the first sentence.

IMG_5812

The parts come on foam core that has been printed on both sides, 2 A3 sheets. Although described as a puzzle it came with 2 side of instructions.

The parts come on foam core that has been printed on both sides, 2 A3 sheets. Although described as a puzzle it came with 2 side of instructions.

Construction is simple- pop out fold and then push together.

Construction is simple- pop out fold and then push together.

Easy- completed already.

Easy- completed already.

With a 30cm ruler and 1/72 Armourfast STUG for scale purposes.

With a 30cm ruler and 1/72 Armourfast STUG for scale purposes.

I’ll be honest it is far from perfect- rather crude and at a rough guesstimate about half the size it should be. It was quick and cheap though and will be more in tune to the ground, rather than the figure scale. If I can be bothered I’ll paint the exposed edges, if I can really be bothered I’ll replace the weakest element (the chariot at the top) with a metal model, and if a huge burst of energy overtakes me I can always use it as a template to scale up and scratch-build a true 1/76 scale one. In any case I can see myself using it a Berlin skirmish soon.

Cheers,

Pete.

Leave a Reply

