Sheds, damp and a suprising lack of nostalgia….

I was in the shed the other day and noticed that a box that was resting on the floor had got a little damp. At this point I’ll point out that due to a quirk of micro geography that side of the shed where the box was stored is effectively 90cm underground, due to the shed also having a rough unsealed concrete floor I try to raise everything up but had neglected to do so with this box… It contained my old GW and Science fiction figures from the 90s. Having not looked into the box in over 10 years and not wanting to lose the contents to damp I pulled it free and took it inside for further investigation.

This is what I found:

In a plastic bag was the contents, barring the figures, of a copy Space Hulk.

In a plastic bag was the contents, barring the figures, of a copy Space Hulk.

A bashed and worn but complete set of the 80s Judge Dredd floorplans.

A bashed and worn but complete set of the 80s Judge Dredd floorplans.

A few odd bits of resin.

A few odd bits of resin.

A mix box of old Cyberpunk and Post Apocalypse figures.

A mix box of old Cyberpunk and Post Apocalypse figures.

My necromunda collection.

My necromunda collection.

Old Eldar Harlequins.

Old Eldar Harlequins.

My old Eldar army and a few odds and sods.

My old Eldar army and a few odds and sods.

This pretty much all that is left of my formative gaming years. What was quite telling was my lack of any emotional attachment to it. I was more excited by the SF/PA figures and floor plans- I can see gaming potential there, but the army I fought through high school and college with just left me cold. Even the Necromunda stuff I had enjoyed so much… guess it’s going to be hawked off.

Cheers,

Pete.

2 comments on “Sheds, damp and a suprising lack of nostalgia….

  1. Michael says:

    Interesting find and reaction. I think I might have the same reaction if I were to find all my D&D kit and figures from my teen years. We do move on. Still, it’s cool that you had your own gaming time capsule to discover – Lord knows where all my early stuff went. Given away, I think.
    Cheers,
    Michael

  2. Pete S/ SP says:

    There was a lot less there than I expected, Out of my first (Squat) army I only found 2 figures and one vehicle, the rest lost some time in the mid 90s I guess. Only planning to sell the Eldar and Necromunda stuff- the rest I intend to use again….

    Cheers,

    Pete.

Leave a Reply

