Works in Progress from the Shed: Buildings, Ships and Conversions.

A few pics of things that I am working on…

An Airfix resin building  based up.

An Airfix resin building based up.

Back view of the same, the extra rubble was made up of budgie grit, cat litter (clean of course) and Linka casting in plaster.

Back view of the same, the extra rubble was made up of budgie grit, cat litter (clean of course) and Linka casting in plaster.

A pair of Dutch styled buildings based together.

A pair of Dutch styled buildings based together.

Back view: I've tried to find a compromise between putting on a realistic amount of rubble and keeping areas clear for game-ability.

Back view: I’ve tried to find a compromise between putting on a realistic amount of rubble and keeping areas clear for game-ability.

Given that I got all three building at 50% of RRP I’m quite pleased with them. They paint up well and I don’t think you can have too many building in an Urban Skirmish set up.

The Italian Impero, a Littorio class Battleship (never completed in WW2 though). 1/200th kit by Revell.

The Italian Impero, a Littorio class Battleship (never completed in WW2 though). 1/200th kit by Revell.

45 minutes later I had finished it. I find ship kits to be quite enjoyable to build.

45 minutes later I had finished it. I find ship kits to be quite enjoyable to build.

I’m slowly working through my ship collection, I’m aiming to use them for both Fletcher- Pratt style games as well as Air to Surafce attack games with 1/600th planes.

I decided to try my hand at a quick conversion: I wanted to make some US SOF figures with the short lived XM25 grenade launcher (see the wiki page for a quick overview of its developmental history: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/XM25_CDTE ). To try and keep some sort of continuity I used parts from the same sculptor but 3 different companies: Figures by Under Fire Miniatures, heads by Vepa Miniatures and the backpacks were left overs I had from the TDQ/ CP Miniatures Falklands range.

IMG_5977

Tools of the trade, pretty simple really IO don't know why I put off trying it before for so long.

Tools of the trade, pretty simple really IO don’t know why I put off trying it before for so long.

The end result: pretty pleased with it for a first try.

The end result: pretty pleased with it for a first try.

One figure will be painted in Multi- Cam the other in the slightly older ACU scheme.

Cheers,

Pete.

6 comments on “Works in Progress from the Shed: Buildings, Ships and Conversions.

  1. Mathyoo says:

    What’s not to like?
    The houses are great – I like how they are made to look good while still being playable. And how you added the rubble is really wise, leaving the clear space in the house itself! Perhaps add some fallen timber, but that’s usually something nobody would miss.

    While I’ve built a huge aircraft carrier model in past, I’m not too sold on the ships myself. Then again, I’d probably way prefer to play aerial games if I’d have some ground targets to attack. Or a whole city to play over – in a scenario where fighters protect the bombers – gah, I need to buy me some planes! πŸ˜€

    As for the head swap, it might seem easy, but I can understand how you wouldn’t want to work on them – Its hard to convert a very nice looking miniature πŸ˜€

    • Pete S/ SP says:

      Cheers Mathyoo, THe sculpts are a bit too good to cut up but needs must, my SOF troops need the support πŸ™‚ I did add some extra timbers to the models after I took the photos with some balsa scraps I had lying around, they should be more visible when I paint them (currently they are just wearing their black undercoat). The large scale ships are great fun- the guess the range mechanism seems quite simplistic but works really well- if you ever get a chance give it a go. Also the 1/600th planes from Tumbling Dice are quite affordable…. πŸ™‚

      Cheers,

      Pete.

  2. Christopher Moody says:

    In August 2013, the army revealed that the XM25 may move to low-rate initial production (LRIP) by August 2014. The weapon is currently in the engineering and manufacturing development (EMD) phase and not yet ready for fielding. By August 2014, it is expected to reach Milestone C, starting LRIP for 1,100 weapons and needed ammunition. Low-rate production would lead to type-classification, resulting in removing the “X” from its designation. Improvements are being made concerning the fire control system, battery life, weight, and magazine size. Following Milestone C in 2014, the system will go through initial operational tests and live-fire tests in 2015. The XM25 is expected to be combat-ready by the end of 2015, and be fielded with all brigade combat teams, as well as the Army Special Operations Command, special forces detachments, and ranger regiments. Automated production will reduce the price of the system to $35,000 for the weapon and fire control system, and $55 per round.
    So they might have a longer game life then expected. Fingers crossed. Hell I am more worried about painted all my US empress 28s up in muilt-cam only to find out that the military choose a completely different cammo pattern.
    The buildings look great.

    • Pete S/ SP says:

      Thanks for the extra info.

      Out of curiosity what have the US military adopted instead on multicam then?

      Cheers,

      Pete.

      • Christopher Moody says:

        The army is dragging its feet at the moment. Currently state side and training its ACUs, out side the wire and field training its Multicam.
        Multicam won hands down in testing last year, but the army doesn’t like the price. Tie that in with congress ordering all the services to stick to the same pattern.
        So this has lead to them start a new round of testing. So I am thinking your still good for a few more years lol.

      • Pete S/ SP says:

        Fair enough, my SOF are a mix of everything at the moment, basically trying to cover 2001- present… that said I’ve yet to try painting ACU….

        See what the final decision is, no doubt money will win out ultimately.

        Cheers,

        Pete.

Leave a Reply

