LCW- Painted figures.

I’ve finished the first batch of my 1/35 figures for Little Cold Wars.

IMG_6103

IMG_6102

IMG_6101

The West Germans are old Airfix and the Soviets are old ESCI. They were painted with acrylics then given a coat of PVA then two coats of gloss spray varnish. This should toughen them enough for gaming.

Next up will be the balance of the Soviets- though I’m undecided between Blue berets for the VDV or Black for the Naval Infantry.

Cheers,

Pete.

13 comments on “LCW- Painted figures.

  1. 172fixer says:

    I know I’m beginning to sound like a broken record, but I’d give my eyeteeth for a set of those Germans in 1/72!!! I’m looking to convert some Pegasus Vietnam era Marines for the cause. 🙂

  2. Pete S/ SP says:

    Sadly they were never scaled down, well not according to Plastic Soldier Review. I imagine that the old1/72nd ESCI Nato troops set will be pretty hard to find by now too.

    If you don’t mind metal- try the Elhiem range: http://www.elhiemfigures.com/ourshop/cat_816999-NATO-West-Germany.html

    Cheers,

    Pete.

  3. 172fixer says:

    I’m a sucker for the plastic, but I’ve always wanted to try Elhiem. Thanks for the tip!

  4. Lovely work! I can’t wait to send a few matchsticks their way!

  5. tankguy1 says:

    A black wash, base work, and a coat of dull-cote would really make them stand out. Do you need 1/35 scale BMP-2, BMP-1 or T-80 MBT already built? Have some for sale. Should be on my Flickr page at https://www.flickr.com/photos/69768863@N00/sets/72157626640666566/

    • Pete S/ SP says:

      Your tanks look great- though I wouldn’t like to think about postage costs on them. I was trying to go for an old toy soldier look on the figures rather than a modern detailed one, though it was odd painting that way. If you look on the Megablitz and More blog you’ll see the game in action and the aesthetic that is being aimed for.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

      • tankguy1 says:

        Postage is normally by weight. These are all plastic so post might not be that bad. Would remove turrets for shipping. Some minor repairs may be necessary after shipment and there is always the danger of U-boots when shipping overseas.

        Hope to find someone using Forces of Valor diecast needing Soviet opponents.

  6. Black berets, because Soviet Naval Infantry have been cool since 1917. Otherwise they look great, very old school. It’s odd, I’m so used to seeing our guys today so kitted out, with body armour, NVG mounts on the helmets, radios everywhere, etc, that those figures look strangely unburdened. When I think back to what I wore in the field in the 1980s, we were practically naked by comparison.

    • Pete S/ SP says:

      Yeah the change is quite pronounced now you have mentioned it. I’m reminded of the recent set of photos from a UK newspaper showing the evolution of a British soldiers kit through the centuries.

      As the for Black beret. Blue beret I’m still considering. Do I want to game air drops of amphibious landings?

      Cheers,

      Pete.

  7. Pete S/ SP says:

    OK I’ll start them tonight- I look forward to seeing them used with the ships you have done.

    Cheers,

    Pete.

Leave a Reply

