More dates for the diary….

002

001

This time my talk is on the inter War role of the RAF.

Cheers,

Pete.

6 comments on “More dates for the diary….

  1. Ooh ! I might come to that. 25 years since I last went to talk at HMHS.

  2. Interesting subject, wish I could be there. Speaking of the interwar RAF, just by chance, the MoD News today announced that 31 Squadron, currently leaving Afghanistan, was first there in 1919 during the Third Afghan War, flying Be2s over the mountains and dropping grenades on the bad guys. Sounds pretty hairy.
    The article is unfortunately behind the Sunday Times firewall. http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/life/courtsocial/article4268230.ece

    Good luck w your talk.

    • Pete S/ SP says:

      Thanks Michael- shame that the articles is hidden behind the pay-wall as you said. The 1919 stuff is what I’ll be looking at. I’ll see if I can contact 31 Squadron directly. Thanks for the idea.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

  3. Mathyoo says:

    This is fantastic, Pete!

    I’m really sorry I am going to miss that. I just took a course on WW1 aviation and it got me thinking how the doctrine changed in between the wars!

    • Pete S/ SP says:

      Thanks- It’s an interesting period where the RAF is trying to find a role for itself to keep its independence whilst trying out the latest theories concerning the new period of warfare, all this combines with the tail end of empire too….

      Cheers,

      Pete.

Leave a Reply

