A Gun Truck for Iraq.

I have a fondness for armed light vehicles, jeeps, trucks what have you. I find them fun to convert up too- bits of plastic card and cheap diecasts with bits from the spares box… that will keep me happily occupied in the shed for a few hours.

Ages ago I found some trucks in the Pound Shop in town that were a passable representation of the US M939, to improve them I gort some replacement wheels from S and S models. Like so much they were boxed up and put in the shed and half forgotten about. But now the weather is improving I’m trying to tidy it up and I was fed up of kicking the box around so I decided to get cracking with them.

I bought 4 trucks (now I wish I had bought significantly more of them) with the idea of forming a convoy for games set in the early part of the Iraq War 2003/4. Three of the trucks would remain as cargo trucks but I couldn’t help playing around with one of them:

20150404_024731

This is the basic truck with the tilt removed and the wheels replaced with the white metal alternatives.

20150404_022458

Plating was added with plastic card to represent the armour shets that were added inthe early pre MRAP days- the so called ‘hillbilly armour’. The gun is the venerable M2 HMG with came from the spares box, as did the plastic ammo boxes and tarp.

20150404_024745

This top view shows off the ammo boxes and tarp better.

20150404_051539

A coat of grey primer (also from the pound shop) ties it all together nicely before painting, which will be the next step….

Cheers,

Pete.

2 comments on “A Gun Truck for Iraq.

  1. Mathyoo says:

    Nice and simple conversion!

    I am working on technicals myself, but it all came to a halt as I have trouble removing the decal glue!

    • Pete S/ SP says:

      Thanks mate. I just gave mine a light sanding then primed over them. Hopefully it won’t come back and bite me later. For what it is worth I tend to use Oven cleaner as an all purpose stripper these days.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

Leave a Reply

