US Gun trucks- a work in progress.

Ages ago I bought 4 toy trucks from one of the Pound shops in town; they bear an uncanny resembalance to the US M939 6 by 6 truck. I thoughht I’d do a recap of my earlier posts and bring things together. A few other gamers on forums I visit had also bought lots of them too- noticing like many cheap toy vehicles the wheels are the weakest part of the kit; this inspired Sand S models to do a replacement wheel set. I ordered enough replacement wheels for the trucks I had bought (at this point I wished I had bought considerably more of them) and propmtly stashed them in the shed a semi- forgot about them. Recently I was having a clear up in there and found the box again, so after several months delay I got round to making them up. A big inspiration in my project was this rather nice photo book: http://www.tankograd.com/cms/website.php?id=/en/index/publikationen/american_spezial/gun_trucks_irak.htm I can definately recommed it if you fancy trying something similar yourself.

The basic truck with the tilt removed and the replacement white metal wheels addded.

The basic truck with the tilt removed and the replacement white metal wheels addded.

The gun truck was converted witha spare .50 cal Machine Gun I had in the spares box as well as pieces of plasticard to represent the add on armour plates.

The gun truck was converted witha spare .50 cal Machine Gun I had in the spares box as well as pieces of plasticard to represent the add on armour plates.

The basic paint jobs. 3 were painted in NATO 3 colour camo, the last in a MERDC scheme (which according to my photo references could still be seen in Iraq in 2003).

The basic paint jobs. 3 were painted in NATO 3 colour camo, the last in a MERDC scheme (which according to my photo references could still be seen in Iraq in 2003).

The next post should see them finished…. Cheers, Pete.

15 comments on “US Gun trucks- a work in progress.

  1. Mathyoo says:

    Fantastic work, Pete!

    I like soft skin vehicles, especially for skirmish games and nothing beats conversions, so this is certainly an inspiration to build upon!

    • Pete S/ SP says:

      Thanks mate. Got a large interest in softskins converted to gun trucks- I blame too many viewings of Mad Max at a formative age. I agree they always make a skirmish game interesting.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

  2. Nice job, I have a vehicle like this (Marx make I think) that I have been using as a M939. I never thought to convert it until reading this. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Michael says:

    Good idea Pete. I find the toy wheels always weaken the overall impression.
    Looking forward to seeing them finished.
    Cheers,
    M

  4. Christopher Moody says:

    I remember road warrioring an old truck in Afghanistan, riveting steel and Kevlar plates to the sides, And lining the sides and bed with sand bags. Mad us feel a little bit safer….But not by much.

    • Pete S/ SP says:

      Thanks for the comment. Always interested to hear from someone who was there.Were the materials provided to you or was it all scrounged? I have to ask- did you manage to get any pics of it?

      Cheers,

      Pete.

      • Christopher Moody says:

        The steel plates where mostly scrap, the Kevlar we had ordered. I wasn’t high enough on the totem pole to get all the if. Just told to put that thing together. And sadly no photos. Digital cams wear still pretty pricy in 2005

  5. Hey that is a great Idea to make your own Gun Trucks they look Super! Hey I think I’ll try that myself. I just need to find those trucks here in the US. I love the New Tonka line of Battle vehicles. They make nice vehicles:-) Hey thanks for adding my Blogg Terminator game. I’m still working on making it better:-) Take care my Friend:-) Cheers. Greyson

    • Pete S/ SP says:

      Thanks Greyson, check the local dollar stores or similar and toy shop- you never know what you can find there.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

      • Thanks I’ll give it a look. Seems like some many toys here have gone PC 😦 You can find some good Military stuff sometimes. I did find a nice Set at our Family Dollar over Christmas. It has some 28mm Crates,barrels and nice anti Air Missile launcher. And a nice Cannon for Martian wars 1889:-) Cheers Greyson

      • Hey thanks I’ll keep my Eyes out! Thank you Pete!

Leave a Reply

