Cheap Diecasts at ‘The Works’. Two quid each….

In the UK there is a chain of discount book/ toy shops called ‘The Works’ and they have recently got a selection of the Fabbri diecasts for a very reasonable £2 each.

Some bloke on TMP drew them to my attention (the site is good for something) and I popped along today for some retail therapy.

20150820_152840

Rather pleased with my haul- some nice bits and pieces for my modern Russians and some Lend Lease tanks for the middle of WW2.

If you are in the UK I’d go to a local store asap as I’m pretty sure they will sell quick:

http://www.theworks.co.uk/storelocator

Cheers,

Pete.

6 comments on “Cheap Diecasts at ‘The Works’. Two quid each….

  1. I love those that’s a super price wish I had that here:(

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Pete S/ SP says:

    Yeah they are a great deal- they’d still be cheap at tywice the price. Apparently the chain buys them direct from China so it is possible that they could turn up your way.

    Cheers,

    Pete.

  3. Mathyoo says:

    Ha! My first thought was “Ugh, 2 quid, that’s a quid too many!”, but oh my, they are nice!
    What size are they? I really like the look of the T-55 but I reckon it’s too small for 28mm?

    • Pete S/ SP says:

      Thanks Mathyoo- some gaps that could do with filling and a repaint wouldn’t hurt either but for the price I’m happy with them.

      They are 1/72 scale so sadly they’d be too small for 28mm, you’d want either 1/56th or 1/48th for them I’d imagine.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

  4. Daid Bradley says:

    Picked up some at our local “Works” in Essex – judging by your photo (you seem to have picked up a BTR-90), and others and my purchases, what has been distributed by “Works” to their various outlets does seem to vary from store to store. Mine had got a lot of T-80s, JS-2s, Matildas and Lees and a winter camouflaged T-34/85.

    • Pete S/ SP says:

      It does seem to be pretty random as to what was left in there. I saw T80s but left them there as I’ve loads of Revell ones already, likewise I don’t really need any more T34s but the lend lease stuff was welcome. A couple more BTR90s would be fantastic though- it is the modern stuff I’m most interested in.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

Leave a Reply

