… I figured it was about time for one.

 

The big news is that I’ve finally finished my MA in Military History and done well enough for a distinction, next step is to try and find the funding for a PHD as I’m wanting to expand my MA thesis.

 

I’ve also had a holiday to Normandy, was a nice road trip with my Dad. The extended family was down in the New Forest area for my Uncle’s wedding so it was an easy trip across the Channel to visit Normandy. All in it was only a week long trip but I managed to make the most of it.

Friday- Down to New Forest  but called in at Bletchley Park.

20170901_155719

A replica working Bombe.

I’d not been before – I was really impressed with it, I don’t think we saw all of it as it we only had a few hours but I’ll certainly be back. The scale of the operation was staggering in terms of the number of radio messages being intercepted and decoded.

Saturday- Uncle’s wedding.

Sunday- drove to Portsmouth for the ferry over to Ouistreham and then on to the holiday cottage.

Monday- Sword beach, The No. 4 Commando and Le Grand Bunker museum.

DSCN0119

Sword Beach looking west along the coast.

DSCN0132

The Museum entrance with a couple of artillery pieces outside.

Tueday- Arromanches and the Mulberry Harbour, the DDay Museum there and the Longues Sur Mer battery.

DSCN0153

The remains of one of the Mulberrys.

DSCN0209

A casemate and gun at Longues- Sur- Mer.

Wednesday- Point Du Hoc and Omaha beach.

DSCN0239

An open gun pit at Pointe Du Hoc.

DSCN0347

Omaha beach looking East.

Thursday- Peagasus Bridge, Gondree Cafe, Airbourne Museum and Merville Battery before getting the overnight ferry back to Portsmouth.

DSCN0383

The new bridge and memorials.

DSCN0403

The original bridge in the grounds of the museum.

DSCN0443

A casemate at Merville.

Friday- Arrived in Portsmouth, saw the new RN aircraft carrier and lots of Type 45 destroyers as we docked then drove and hour west to see Bovington Tank Museum.

DSCN0470

The biggest ever ship for the Royal Navy.

DSCN0485

Just one of the halls at Bovington Tank Museum.

DSCN0616

Some of the heavy making up the Tiger exhibit at Bovington.

As you can see it was a pretty packed holiday. It was the first time I’d visited any WW2 battlefield; it was something I took a lot from and will be something I’ll be repeating next year (probably around my birthday time). The deeper appreciation of the events and sacrifices you get from touring places yourself cannot be overstated. Omaha beach was particularly poignant as it was so quiet being midweek and the end of the season. That said the sites that had an American connection were busier than those which did not. As a whole the museums were great (Bovington especially so as well as the new one at Pegasus Bridge) I took hundreds of photos so if people are particularly keen I’ll do a blog entry on each site…?

On to the gaming side of things:

Pennine Megagames is going from strength to strength at the moment. Next years calendar has been decided upon with just a few dates to confirm. Starting with Cockroaches, Copper and Cows (the Mexican Revolution) we then go to The Shot heard around the Universe (rebellious planets in space). June sees a trip to the Eastern Front with Fall Blau ’42, an operational game being developed by myself and Matt. This will be followed by Megamunda– as the name suggests a SF game blending Necromunda and Judge Dredd. Everybody Dies III: Playing with Fire adds more dragons to the well known Game of Throne setting. Finally, double dealing and espionage in 60s/70s South America in Juntas sees out the year. I’m really enjoying getting my teeth stuck into all the operational accounts of 1942 to develop the game engine for the Fall Blau game.

In parallel to this I am working up a Post Norman Invasion of 1066 game that I’ll submit for consideration next year. Set in 1069 it sees the Normans try to cement their control of the North against the last Saxon attempts to retake the crown. The combat system got an early run out at the recent Fiasco show in Leeds. It will be making an appearance next at Recon in Pudsey in early December if anyone wants to catch it.

I’m rather pleased with how my first attempt at making a map has come out.

20171029_105005

I used the paper figures from the Helion book series. I’m really pleased with how well the turned out (I’ll put them in another blog entry) I manged to get two decent sized armies done in a week.

The next expansion to the rather good The Great War board game is up on Kickstarter at the moment:

I’ve backed this, it looks like it will be bringing in some interesting new rules, the French expansion is set around Verdun which got my interest straight away.

I’m awaiting the new Next War: Poland game to come out, I’ve played the Korea and Indo- Pakistan versions and enjoyed them so this is a must buy. They are not the easiest rules to play but they scratch my modern chit and hex itch.

Oddly for me I’ve been all misty- eyed and nostalgic for my youth now that Games Workshop have reworked Necromunda. I’m seriously considering picking it up, however cost and storage will be an issue.

On to figures I’m still plugging away with my 20mm WW2 and modern figures. I’m currently working up a linked series of scenarios to tie smaller 20mm skirmishes to a big 6mm battle. My Cold War 6mm collection is still a work in progress, some 2nd hand acquisitions have led to an Arab Israeli in 1973 side project. That and I keep eyeing up the new Baccus WW2 miniatures.

Naval and Air war is still going along. Though more movement will be made on those projects when I go to a show next and pick up some more bits from Tumbling Dice. Getting some 6mm figures to tie into my Russo- Japanese warships is another possibility I’m considering at the moment.

All in all plenty to keep me occupied- thanks for reading.

 

Cheers,

 

Pete.

 

 

  1. Chris Kemp Avatar
    Chris Kemp

    ·

    Excellent holiday snaps, Pete. I had no idea that some of the Mulberry casemates were still visible.

    Regards, Chris.

    1. Pete S/ SP Avatar
      Pete S/ SP

      ·

      Yeah quite a few still are- both the bits that made up the outer wall and the pontoons that the connecting roadways floated on. I’ll do a follow up blog post and share more of the pictures I took.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

  2. Chris Kemp Avatar
    Chris Kemp

    ·

    .. And belated congratulations on your MA. I missed that on first reading!

    1. Pete S/ SP Avatar
      Pete S/ SP

      ·

      Thanks Chris. I’ll put up the Mulberry pics this coming week.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

  3. maenoferren22 Avatar
    maenoferren22

    ·

    Congratulations on the MA 👍 I interviewed veterans of 50th division amongst others for my undergrad dissertation. Some amazing stories.

    1. Pete S/ SP Avatar
      Pete S/ SP

      ·

      Thanks. I can imagine they had a lot to say, what was your dissertation title. So few of them left now sadly.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

      1. maenoferren22 Avatar
        maenoferren22

        ·

        It was an educational one, but based on oral testimony. It was 25 years ago and I cannot remember it’s title.

      2. Pete S/ SP Avatar
        Pete S/ SP

        ·

        Fair enough. I feel it is important to get as much oral history recorded as possible. It’s use for filling in the blanks of official regimental histories and such like is invaluable.

        Cheers,

        Pete.

Leave a comment