As you will have seen from past posts I’ve been getting into 6mm ‘Cold War goes hot’ gaming recently. However I’ve been unhappy with roads I’ve used for my games: I just used the thinnest dirt roads from my 20mm collection. Whilst they did the job I’ve been on the look out for a more suitable replacement and after considering a few options I’ve made my own (kind of).

 

Firstly I purchased this rather nice  PDF from Wargames Vault:

http://www.wargamevault.com/product/196057/Roads-1-285

Being multilayered you can selected the different types of road marking and road surfaces before printing them out. I went for European markings and dirty asphalt dry before getting them printed out (Cheers Brian). I then used the technique I had previously utilized to make megagame counters and stuck them on to self adhesive floor tiles (4 for £1). You can get thicker more durable tiles from places other than pound shops but they need to be cut with a blade and ruler rather than scissors that slows down production.

I went from this:

IMG_7037

To this:

IMG_7038

I tidied up the edges and added a bit of weathering with marker pens and pencil crayons to give a bit of variety:

IMG_7039

I did plenty to give enough variety to the road layouts. The vinyl tiles give them a bit of flexibility but I don’t know how well they’ll drape over hills… Gentle slopes should be OK.

IMG_7040

I made up a quick layout so I could see how they look:

IMG_7042

You get a decent selection of parts although I’d have liked to see a single into dual carriage way connector. I grabbed some 6mm toys to see how they scaled (Heroics and Ros based on 50mm and 30mm squares for 5core Brigade Commander):

IMG_7043

 

Overall I’m really pleased with how they look. I’ll get a game in with them as soon as possible to try them out.

 

Cheers,

 

Pete.

 

  1. imperialrebelork Avatar
    imperialrebelork

    ·

    That’s great mate. Well done. They should do the job very nicely.

    1. Pete S/ SP Avatar
      Pete S/ SP

      ·

      Thanks- I’ll hope fully get them in a game next week.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

  2. countzero99uk Avatar
    countzero99uk

    ·

    Looking good 🙂

    1. Pete S/ SP Avatar
      Pete S/ SP

      ·

      Thanks mate- I owe some ink.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

Leave a comment