I went to see the perimer of the Peter Jackson film ‘They Shall Not Grow Old’ a couple of weeks back; if you haven’t heard of the film please look it up. Technically amazing and a very powerful piece of cinema. When it goes on general release I highly recommend you to go and see it.

I was inspired, partly by the film and mostly because I wanted them for a scenario, to dig out my small collection of WW1 figures and paint some up.

This small unit of 20mm BEF troops from 1914 are from Lancer Miniatures clicky and are mostly armed with rifles barring the few command figures that go with them.

1914 BEF 1

1914 BEF 2

1914 BEF 3

The figures have plenty of character and painted up very quickly using my standard techniques. Now I just need to get all the German opposition painted so I can game out the opening phases of the Great War.

 

Cheers,

 

Pete.

  1. Sapper Joe Avatar
    Sapper Joe

    ·

    You really have been busy painting! I really want to see that Peter Jackson’s documentary.

    1. Pete S/ SP Avatar
      Pete S/ SP

      ·

      Yeah I got the bit between my teeth and went for it.

      If you get the chance to see the film go for it.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

  2. theimperfectmodeller Avatar
    theimperfectmodeller

    ·

    Having seen the film too Pete I can easily see why you would have been inspired to do these.

    1. Pete S/ SP Avatar
      Pete S/ SP

      ·

      It was a very powerful film. Some Pickelhaube helmeted Germans will be painted next to go against them.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

  3. Mark A. Morin Avatar
    Mark A. Morin

    ·

    I read TIM’s account and I am also wanting to see this documentary. These figs do have a lot of character, and you have painted them well. They would be fun to play and I look forward to seeing your German stuff. I just played a fun WWI game a couple of weeks ago which I will make a short post about hopefully today (been behind on my blogging). What rules will you use?

    1. Pete S/ SP Avatar
      Pete S/ SP

      ·

      Thanks Mark- I highly recommend the film if you get the chance to watch it.

      Not decided on what rules to use yet. I may go with Arc of Fire- I used to play a lot of it and the rule book does have a WW1 scenario in it.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

  4. justneedsvarnish Avatar
    justneedsvarnish

    ·

    Nice figures!

    1. Pete S/ SP Avatar
      Pete S/ SP

      ·

      Thanks. I’ll look to add some tripod mounted machine guns for them next I think.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

  5. Marvin Avatar
    Marvin

    ·

    I so want to see that Peter Jackson film, it looks wonderful. Been painting lots of WWI this year as you know, so it’s a timely release in more ways than one. Love the colours for these figs too, what colour do you use for khaki?

    1. Pete S/ SP Avatar
      Pete S/ SP

      ·

      Your WW1 posts have been a big inspiration for me.

      The Khaki was Vallejo English uniform and Green Brown mixed about 50/50 then highlighted with pure Green Brown.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

      1. Marvin Avatar
        Marvin

        ·

        I’ve used Vallejo’s English uniform too, so that’s reassuring! Might try the Green Brown thing too.

      2. Pete S/ SP Avatar
        Pete S/ SP

        ·

        I find the English Uniform lacks a green tinge that ‘British’ khaki has. I do use it straight from the pot for WW2 ‘Hungarian’ khaki though.

        Cheers,

        Pete.

  6. Azazel Avatar
    Azazel

    ·

    I haven’t yet seen the doco, but it’s definitely on my list. Uniform colours here look very appropriate.

    1. Pete S/ SP Avatar
      Pete S/ SP

      ·

      Thanks. English Uniform from Vallejo unlike their USA uniform is ideal for the job.

      Cheers,

      Pete.

  7. Unit-ed October: 2018 Community Painting Challenge. Also, Orctober/Orktober. Community Round-Up | Azazel's Bitz Box. Avatar
    Unit-ed October: 2018 Community Painting Challenge. Also, Orctober/Orktober. Community Round-Up | Azazel's Bitz Box.

    ·

    […] finally, Pete completed this platoon of British Expeditionary Force from 1914, by Lancer Miniatures, again in 20mm. Pete certainly added an impressive number of […]

Leave a comment